My Cultural Education

One of the coolest things about reading is learning about other cultures.  Whether the book is set in another country or another time, there is always something to learn.  One of my favorite places to visit through books (and hopefully in real life one day) is the UK, England in particular.  Which is just one of the reasons for my weakness for British Chick-Lit.  And while I don’t always get them, I love novels full of uniquely English references.  My Fake Wedding by Mina Ford is loaded with more of those references and strange British slang than I have ever encountered before.  Most of which I probably shouldn’t repeat here (blushes).  The main character, Katie Simpson, and her friends are sometimes – more like usually – irreverent, crude, and rude.  Sometimes uncomfortably so.  I thought that the English were supposed to be polite.  Even while insulting you.  But Ford’s characters say the kinds of things we’d all love to tell people but don’t out loud and to their faces.  Shocking!

My Fake Wedding by Mina Ford

My Fake Wedding by Mina Ford

I think that the author thought that this would be funny.  Sometimes it is but it often goes too far, especially when George, Katie’s GBF, gets carried away insulting people and being a selfish git (I used some of that slang!).  What is funny is Katie’s knack – like so many Chick-lit heroines – for getting into awkward and hilarious scrapes.  I’m only half way through right now so I hope those humorous situations don’t get stale.  I am rooting for Katie despite her bad behavior, filthy mouth, and really poor life choices.  I want her catering business, Neat Eats – not the most imaginative name choice, but whatever – to succeed and I hope she finds the love she’s convinced herself that she doesn’t believe exists with that certain someone.  Yeah, Chick-lit as a genre can be a bit predictable, but like with so many things in life, it is the journey, not the destination.  A journey on which I will learn more euphemisms than I ever thought existed and some more incomprehensible British slang.

This entry was posted in Chick-Lit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

