Review: My Fake Wedding

My Fake Wedding
My Fake Wedding by Mina Ford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Storywise My Fake Wedding is right up my alley with all of the classic qualities of the Chick-Lit genre. There were humorously awkward situations, a quirky, recognizable heroine at a crossroads in her life, a group of loving but trouble-making friends, and an unexpected romance. Chick-Lit can often be predictable but the author managed to surprise me and keep me hoping for that happy ending right up until the end.
What made My Fake Wedding less enjoyable for me was the crude language and behavior of the characters. I think the author thought that their shocking language and constant sex obsession would add another element of humor but it got old quickly. And, more importantly, it distracted from the story of Katie’s – and to a lesser extent her friends’ – personal growth.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Chick-Lit, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

