Goodreads | Shelly’s Year in Books

After a disappointing 2014 in which I read more than a book a week but didn’t really enjoy any of them, 2015 was a pretty good reading year for me.  I revisited an old favorite, finished a wonderful series, started a couple of new ones, and discovered some new authors that I plan on reading more of.  You can see the complete list of books I read this past year by clicking the source link at the bottom of the post but I’ll cover a few of the highlights here.

Early in the year, I read the beautiful first book of Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwaters series.

Daughter of the Forest

Daughter of the Forest (Sevenwaters #1)

 

I will definitely be reading the rest of that series in the near future and anything else Ms. Marillier has written.  I read a couple of books written by favorite authors that were disappointing but no one can be brilliant all the time.  Right?  Then I slogged through Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe.

Robinson

Robinson Crusoe

 

I don’t recommend it.  At the recommendation of my mother and one of my librarian friends, I read Ruth Reichl’s first novel, Delicious.  That one I would recommend.  It has lovable characters, history, romance, self-discovery and lots of food.

This summer I finished Deborah Harkness’s All Souls trilogy with the final book, The Book of Life.  

Book of Life

Book of Life (All Souls #3)

 

The All Souls trilogy is a magical series filled with romance, history, and magic.  My favorite installment of the series was the second, Shadow of Night because of all the historical characters Diana and Matthew encounter.  This summer, because I am a massive St. Louis Cardinals fan,  I deviated from my usual focus on fiction to read Mike Matheny’s wonderful The Matheny Manifesto.

matheny

The Matheny Manifesto is a must read for anyone with any responisbility of children

 

I continued Jasper Fforde’s Tuesday Next series with the second book, Lost in a Good Book, which I enjoyed much more than I had the first book of the series.  I also really enjoyed Katherine Reay’s second novel, Lizzy & Jane, which is a touching and humorous story of sisterly love.

Lizzy and jane

Lizzy & Jane

 

And I discovered Gail Carriger and her delightful Parasol Protectorate series; another new series I plan on reading more of this year.

With so many great reads from 2015, it should be difficult to choose my favorite but only one can be my favorite read of the year.  As it turns out, the choice wasn’t that difficult.  A couple of years after it was such a big hit with a slightly younger audience, I finally read Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.  

Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is my favorite book of the year!

I don’t remember the last time I identified so thoroughly with a character.  I recognized myself in Cath so I appreciated her journey of self-discovery and growth immensely.

Source: Goodreads | Shelly’s Year in Books

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.