Reading Resolutions

It’s that time again.  Time to make promises to yourself that you probably won’t even keep through January.  I’ve made the usual resolution to get in better shape because while round is a shape, squishy isn’t.  I’ve also vowed to be more organized with my finances.  And because I know I will likely fail at those resolutions, I’ve made a few reading resolutions that will be a little easier to keep.

My first reading resolution of 2016 will be to finish A Game of Thrones, the first installment in George R. R. Martin’s phenomenally popular A Song of Ice and Fire series.  I won’t resolve to read the rest of the series but that’s a subject for another post.  Secondly, I’ve set my 2016 Reading Challenge on Goodreads.com at 30 books despite the fact that I’ve read more than that in each of the last four years.  This year I want to read books I really enjoy and I want to feel like I can take the time to savor them.  On top of which I would like to focus on my own writing this year and unfortunately you can’t read and write at the same time.  At least I can’t.

Lastly, for the past couple of years, I’ve toyed with the idea of taking one of those reading challenges you see online but I always lose track by the summer.  However, I found a very doable, twelve-book challenge on ModernMrsDarcy.com (gotta love the name!).  I like it because, with only 12 challenges (one for each month), it leaves room for plenty of just-for-fun reading.  Which is my favorite kind.

2016 Reading Challenge from modernmrsdarcy.com  Visit this great site for readers for challenges, lists and more

2016 Reading Challenge from modernmrsdarcy.com Visit this great site for readers for challenges, lists and more

Devoted readers and aspiring readers: this list is for you if you love to read (or want to read more) but don’t believe reading is a competitive sport. If you need structure in choosing your books but don’t want to be pinned down. If you want to stretch a bit instead of forever reading the

Source: The 2016 Reading Challenge. – Modern Mrs. Darcy

This entry was posted in Reader's Rights and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

