Review: The Godmother

The Godmother
The Godmother by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The fantasy genre has always dealt with moral issues. The fight between Good and Evil has been a major theme of the genre since the beginning. But I’ve never been slapped in the face so forcefully with the specific moral preaching that I found in The Godmother. It was a bit off-putting from the start. I felt like I was being told how to feel rather than allowed to form my own view of the desperate situations of the characters and the city.
The idea of paralleling modern trials with well-known fairy tales – Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, Hansel and Gretel, Cinderella, Puss in Boots, and The Magic Flute (I think?) – was fantastic. The execution, however, was wanting. I feel like the author wanted to tell this horror story of political corruption and poverty but slapped in some magic just to make it seem fun. It wasn’t fun. The Hansel and Gretel story of Hank and Gigi was particularly disturbing (as it should be!) but just didn’t jive with the little bit of magic performed.
I understand what Scarborough was doing – showing how Fairy Tales do apply to real life and how humans have dealt with the same trials throughout history. My problem is with the way it was written. I don’t like having things forced down my throat or being told how to think or feel.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Fantasy, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

