Review: The Princess Bride

The Princess Bride
The Princess Bride by William Goldman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Is there anything better than discovering one of your favorite movies is based on a novel? The wonderful thing about The Princess Bride is that it has all of the qualities that make the movie so classic only more. The characters you love are even more lovable – and the ones you love to hate or even more detestable – (Fezzik, if possible is more wonderful!), the quotable lines are all there plus so many more moments of wicked humor left me smiling long after I finished it, and there is even more edge-of-your-seat action. Even though I knew how it was going to go, I still couldn’t put the book down because I had to know how our heroes would escape the many dangers.
If I have one complaint, it would be the interruptions by the author. The plot of The Princess Bride is exactly the kind of story that a reader can disappear into until they are one of the Florinese witnessing tale first hand. So when Goldman breaks in to explain things he’s cut out or the publishing experience, he drags you back into reality. It is bad enough that I had to come back to reality when the book ended. Which brings me to another semi-complaint. WHY ISN’T BUTTERCUP’S BABY A REAL THING? I read the 25th-anniversary edition in which the first chapter of a long lost sequel to The Princess Bride was included. It seems like it could have been amazing. But these are petty complaints. If you love the movie version of The Princess Bride, read the novel!

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Fantasy, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

