Chick-Lit, Reviews

Review: Must Love Dogs: New Leash on Life (Must Love Dogs #2)

Must Love Dogs: New Leash on Life by Claire Cook

My rating: 3.25 of 5 stars


I first read the first book of the Must Love Dogs many years ago and enjoyed it immensely but I guess it didn’t stick with me too much because when I started reading this one, I found there to be a few details I’d forgotten. Or maybe I was just confused by the movie adaptation.

This second installment in the series is cute, especially Sarah’s interactions with her big, funny family but it felt a little short. I don’t mean that it wasn’t long enough; I mean that it was incomplete, spending more time on the Hurlihy family than on Sarah and her relationship with John. While it was fun and funny, it felt like Cook was filling space just so that she could turn the story into a longer series. The ending felt tacked on just to make the reader happy. I don’t think it will matter much to my life if I don’t continue the series, which now has six books in it, but I’ll definitely read others if I find cheap copies or my library has them.

A better look at post-divorce self-discovery and relationships amidst family complications is The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms.



View all my reviews

Leave a comment